admin On febbraio - 18 - 2011

“Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will”


Pias / Self
7.5 / 10

In a mixture between grunge essence, Bjork’s decadence, hard rock bases and electro aim, the Glasgow band (Dominic Aitchison, Stuart Braithwaite, Martin Bulloch, Barry Burns, and John Cummings) have brought to light the real center of the post-rock sound, with the ‘90s social degradation evolving it in such an experimental way of doing music, before that’s not possible not to bow.
So “Hardcore Will Never Dit, But You Will”, recored at Chem19 studios with the producer Paul Savage (who’ve worked with the band for their 1997’s “Mogwai Young Team”), it’s the seventh album by the scottish band, charged with instinctive grooves and energic charge, at the top, probably, of their career.
Nothing on chance: from little vocal inserts to dreamy-like synths and post-industrial loops to lose your mind.

Of course, we’re waiting to see the entire album performer live, where our heroes can give you a gift for eyes-ears-soul, struggling from the robotic dance of Mexican Grand Prix, to the echoes to the preview album (“The Hawk Is Howling”) in Rano Rano and the final 8 minutes of You’re Lionel Ritchie, increasing evolution and climax like in a post-goth-dark nightmare.
The fact that they’ve not created, in the album, something really far from the past, might not be a spot, but, maybe, only a declaration of independence.

Not to ctiticize.
Only to listen.

1. White Noise
2. Mexican Grand Prix
3. Rano Pano
4. Death Rays
5. San Pedro
6. Letters To The Metro
7. George Square Thatcher Death Party
8. How To Be A Werewolf
9. Too Raging To Cheers
10. You’re Lionel Richie


by Ilaria Rebecchi

Related Images:


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.